Getting back into education

Posted 3 October 2017

In this guest article, Dr Helen Owton, a lecturer in Health and Life Sciences at De Montfort University, offers her hints, tips, and advice for single parents who are looking to get back into education. 

Dr Helen Owton with her daughterI went to university in 2005 with a nine-month old baby hoping to get a degree so that I could become a PE teacher. However, university was the most enlightening experience that I had and when I graduated I felt that I had only just started to unlock my potential for success…

As a single parent your decision to go to university is not a light one. These are some of the skills and strengths that are needed; you probably have these already (but don’t know it yet):

• Open-mindedness

• Resilience

• Time efficiency

• Organisational skills (juggling!)

• Sticking to deadlines

• Think: ‘control the controllables’

• Empathy, energy and enthusiasm

• Writing skills – following guidelines

• Resourcefulness

• Inquisitive mind

• Desire for mental stimulation

Making it work

University is not always a child-friendly place but I was lucky to find a university with a nursery on campus. Whilst the nursery was open to the general public it also was open to students who brought their children to the nursery and seemed to have a good understanding of student situations (e.g. funding issues) and a working relationship with the university. However nursery might not be the right decision that works for you. At times I used a child-minder and asked babysitters (often students) or family to help during the evening. Making childcare work for you is just like everything else you do as a single parent; it’s about juggling!

Supportive circles