Mothers Help

Home Online forum Gingerbread Forum Mothers Help

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #61621 Report

    kmcl78
    Participant

    Hi everyone,

    I’m really not coping very well at the moment, due to working full time with an extremely heavy workload, my children’s dad not really helping as much as I’d like him too and having no family around.

    I’m sure I’m not the only one in this position.

    I was wondering if any of you guys could advise around extra help to support with regular cleaning, cooking, ironing and odd babysitting etc.

    I’ve considered an au pair, however, I’m not really sure.

    Any advice or shared experiences would be great.

    Thank you

    #61629 Report

    sirtobi
    Participant

    hello kmcl78,

    the first thing we did when we started our three male, 59, 7, 15 household, I lowered the standards to a ” just acceptable ” level. The next step was to find areas of expertise where each of us could contribute, and still have fun. Youngest one became the hooverer and shopping specialist. Eldest one spend most of his time in the bathroom anyway, so he took responsibility for it’s state and also took over the laundry. I am not really good at anything, so I excelled in oversight and motivational speaking ( I whish  ) , beside cooking every day. Over time, we had a good stock of meals lasting for more than one day. Chicken soup, lentil soup with frankfurters, fish soup, one day potatoes with carrots and hamburgers, next day with fried eggs for example. So  mostly cooking in a larger scale and then putting the remainders in the freezer or fridge for later or the next day. If you perfect this, your cooking and meal preparation time will decrease significantly. Oh yeah, reducing your sleeping schedule to five hours per night also helps a lot. Now that only two of us are left, eldest one just left for Uni, we have a lot of spare time on our hands and a really good working household.

    I hope this helps.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

Log in or register to reply to this thread

Log In Register