Hello, I’m new! And I need your advice

Home Online forum Gingerbread Forum Hello, I’m new! And I need your advice

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #11856 Report

    Drew 🌺
    Participant

    Hello everyone, im just going through the separation. I’m 29 years old, full time working mum. My daughter is 2 years old. My ex fiancé decided to move out. We live in private rented house and I’m not sure how I’m going to afford nursery fees our rent and bills. I don’t have family around to help me… Maybe there is anyone who was going through same path? How do you manage everything?  Thank you

    #11858 Report

    Empty
    Participant

    Is the father paying anything yet? If not, why not?

    #12032 Report

    SarahJT
    Participant

    hi

    have you tried apply for tax credits and child benefit. They are the only ones I could find that aren’t means tested ie. you can usually get them even if you’re working as long as you don’t earn too much. Nursery fees are about 50 pound a day by me so it would probably be worth you working part time and getting some benefits and you get to spend more time with your daughter x

    #12258 Report

    Peanut321
    Participant

    Yep been/going through exactly the same thing. When your child is three, apply for the 30 free hours nursery entitlement. That saved my life as up until then even working full time I was eating into my savings. Definitely get something from the father – child maintenance plus half the nursery costs if you can, and if he can’t afford much at least you can negotiate down. See if you are entitled to working tax credits. They can pay up to 70% of nursery fees. I also got everything of value together in my house and sold the stuff on Shpock/eBay/car boot sale etc. It might not be what you want to do but it was good for me as I cleared out some clutter, made some cash and felt like I was starting anew. I got a water meter, switched gas suppliers and petitioned my letting agents not to increase my rent to save money day to day. Check out Money Saving Expert online which is good for saving money and also freecycle. Try and make a budget plan up until your child starts school so you can see where you will be at with finances. Have you got friends around or support groups you can go to? Good luck.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

Log in or register to reply to this thread

Log In Register