32 weeks and thinking about the birth

Home Online forum Gingerbread Forum 32 weeks and thinking about the birth

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

mum2be
    Participant

<span style=”font-family: ‘.SFUIText’; font-size: 17pt;”>Hello everyone,</span>

<span style=”font-family: ‘.SFUIText’; font-size: 17pt;”>I am new here, and just discovered gingerbread. I am looking for advice regarding birth and registering the birth. I am currently 32 weeks pregnant, and when I told my partner of 4 years that I was pregnant, he left. So I have set up home on my own and just getting my last bits together. I work full time as a nurse so my maternity pay is suffice and every last penny I have spent has been put towards getting everything I need to support a baby and set up the nursery, pram, car seat etc etc. With regards to my ex, I have been in touch with him on and off and tried to keep things amicable (perhaps naively hoping he will come back as the thoughts of single parenting are daunting) but anyway it’s clear he is not. He has a daughter already who he left behind when she was born and he went to live in Australia, he was put on the birth certificate and came back when she was 4 and was automatically granted access through the courts. So what I am wondering is, should he be present at the birth? As he hasn’t been involved but I feel guilty taking the moment away from him. And do I put him on the birth certificate? As I can’t bare the thought of him making decisions regarding our daughter or taking her away from me. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. </span>

#9923 Report

Empty
    Participant

He can be at the birth if you think it will help YOU (sounds like it won’t, and tbh no one not medically trained can help and even then, only you alone can go through with it). DO NOT put him on the birth certificate.