We provide expert advice, practical support and campaign for single parents

• Join us

Welcome!

Get chatting and meet new single parent friends in the Gingerbread online forums

How it works here

A guide to using the Gingerbread forums, plus our netiquette and rules.

Where to go for advice

Details of organisations, including Gingerbread, that can support single parents

If you need help urgently

If things get too much, details of where to go for immediate help

Asian single mum- taboo!

Posted Fri 29 Jun 2012 19:49

I can't help thinking if I've done the right thing. I am a professional British Asian woman with 2 gorgeous kids- a boy of 4 and a girl of 5. I recently decided to split from my partner who has been battling a 4 year gambling problem. He was dragging me down too so I had to call it a day after 9 years together. I feel guilty for not being able to give my kids a 'proper' family life. The other problem I'm faced with as an Asian woman is that my mum's nartow-minded friends and some of my family think its a big deal for me to raise my kids on my own. I'm lucky that I have a good profession and hence don't financially have to rely on anyone but I'm an emotional wreck!!!

Posted Mon 16 Jul 2012 23:05